

Dear Teacher or Principal,

The Indiana State Tree Farm Committee strongly encourages the development of quality outdoor classroom facilities. Without a doubt, classes taught outdoors are experiences likely to remain in the minds of students for many years. We are pleased to sponsor a contest to recognize the Outstanding Outdoor Classroom each year. This is the 34th year of running this prestigious award. Many of the State award winners achieved additional recognition.

What does the Tree Farm Committee look for in its selection? Although "tree" is in our name and we do look for forest use and management in the curriculum, an existing woods is not needed to qualify for the award. We are more interested in how you are developing a curriculum around the natural resources you have. A major consideration will be that there is a curricular emphasis on use and management of natural resources. We believe it is essential that students learn how our natural resources are used to provide us with all of the products we use every day. We can't have houses, furniture or paper without cutting trees; we can't feed an expanding population without modern agricultural practices; we can't build and drive automobiles without mining the earth's minerals. But we can't expect all of these resources to sustain us indefinitely without proper management.

We like to see a well balanced program that goes beyond simple awareness and identification. It should include consideration of soils, water, wildlife, energy and, of course, forestry, and how these resources can be managed for production, recreation, aesthetics and other benefits. We also like to see a program used in many different subject areas and at many different grade levels. It may seem that we are expecting a great deal, and we are--we are looking for the most outstanding outdoor lab program in the state.

Initial judging will be made at the District Tree Farm Committee level, and district finalists will have an on-site evaluation conducted by the selection committee. Completed applications should be mailed to the Chairperson of the District Committee (see map attached to application) in which the school is located. Applications should be returned to District Committee members <u>by</u> <u>JUNE 4</u>. District committee members will select district winners and then on-site evaluations of District winners will occur in September.

A fifty dollar check along with a district winner certificate will be presented to each district winner. The State Outdoor Classroom will be selected from the district winners.

Any school is eligible to receive the State award once, and schools not winning the award are encouraged to reapply. The school with the most outstanding classroom will be awarded two solid walnut plaques, a \$500.00 check from the Indiana Hardwood Lumberman's Association (IHLA) and a letter of appreciation from Senator Richard Lugar. The first plaque will be

engraved with the name of the school and the second plaque is reserved for the person who has been most responsible for guiding the outdoor lab's development. The State award will be presented at the annual meeting of the Hoosier Association of Science Teachers, Inc. in February. We also will arrange for the winning school to make a presentation at the HASTI convention in which the winning school can highlight their achievement.

If you are aware of an outdoor lab that stresses multiple use resource management, your efforts in nominating the school for this award will be greatly appreciated. If you need additional copies of the application, please contact any one of the District Tree Farm Chairpersons listed on the attached map. Should you have any questions, please contact your local representative of the State Tree Farm System or any member of the Indiana State Tree Farm Committee.

We look forward to the opportunity to coming and visiting your school.

Sincerely,

Robert Burke, Chairman State Tree Farm Committee

Robert Burke

PREVIOUS WINNERS

- 1977 School: Prairie Heights School Corp., LaGrange County; Individual Ned Stump
- 1978 School: Hamilton Southeastern Middle School, Hamilton County; Individual Roger Norris
- 1979 School: Marion Community Schools. Grant County; Individual Jerry Sweeten
- 1980 School: Bloomington North High School, Monroe County; Individual George Luginbill
- 1981 School: Warren Central High School, Marion County; Individual Linda Bayne
- 1982 School: Vigo County School Corporation, Vigo County; Individual Marilyn Blakely & Ron Helms
- 1983 School: Heth-Washington Elementary School, Harrison County; Individual Travis Bushau
- 1984 School: Weston Elementary School, Hancock County; Individual Pete Fortune
- 1985 School: Homestead High School, Allen County; Individual Douglas Waldman
- 1986 School: Parkside Elementary School, LaGrange County; Individual Joyce Weber & Joan Zimmerman
- 1987 School: North Harrison Elementary School, Harrison County; Individual Deborah Schroeder
- 1988 School: Charlestown Middle School, Clark County; Individual Bill King
- 1989 School: Eden Elementary School, Hancock County; Individual Susan Schultz
- 1990 School: Custer Baker Middle School, Johnson County; Individual Lynn Wilhelm
- 1991 School: Brush Creek Elementary, Jennings County: Individual Ron Milligan
- 1992 School: Floyd County Schools, Floyd County; Individual John Riddle
- 1993 School: Franke Park School, Allen County; Individual Russ Voorhees

- 1994 School: Spencer Elementary, Owen County; Individual Ginny Coppedge
- 1995 School: Douglas MacArthur Elementary School, Marion County; Individual Stephen Craig
- 1996 School: Concord Southside Elementary School, Elkhart County; Individual Judy Wells
- 1997 School: Chrisney Elementary, Spencer County; Individual Tammy Graham
- 1998 School: South Ripley Elementary, Ripley County; Individual David Brawner
- 1999 School: Angola Middle School, Steuben County; Individual Paul Beckwith
- 2000 School:Tzouanakis Intermediate School, Putnam County; Individual Daniel Tegrotenhuis.
- 2001 School: Luce Elementary School, Spencer County; Individual Patricia Keith and Tom Hodges.
- 2002 School: Lincoln Elementary School, Lake County; Individual Kathleen Krum
- 2003 School: Pendleton Elementary, Madison County; Individual Marilyn Crosley
- 2004 School Avon Schools, Hendricks County; Individual Carol Ford
- 2005 School: Northwest Allen County Environmental Center, Allen County; Individual Nancy Leininger
- 2006 School: Logansport High School, Cass County; Individual David LaPierre
- 2007 School: Edgewood Elementary, Monroe County; Individual Judy Morran
- 2008 School: Henry S. Evans Elementary, Lake County; Individual Robert Koval
- 2009 School: Harrison Elementary School, Kosciusko County; Individual Judy Kinsey